Working for an MP: logo The House of Commons Portcullis
It's 23 October 2017

About this Site

This project was established, in January 2000, with European Union ADAPT funding to provide an appropriate programme of training and development for the staff of MPs, at Westminster and in the constituencies. Innovative training programmes and resource facilities were piloted at Westminster and constituencies.

Until 31 August 2003 the project was being bankrolled by House funds and operated in partnership with the Industry and Parliament Trust.  From September 2003 the House of Commons awarded a three year contract for the delivery of training services for MPs' staff to WWP Training. In 2008 Capita Learning and Development took over the contract to provide the Members’ staff training events. Click here for more information about the transfer to Capita.  The maintenance of the website is now funded directly by the Resources Department of the House of Commons.

Dick Robinson, who worked in a constituency office for 9 years, wrote much of the website’s content and updates it regularly. He is assisted by Karen Lawrinson who is maintaining the website on a day-to-day basis. Technical support is provided by Bill Thompson. Gerry Hall keeps the Jobs page in fine working order. Several other people contribute from time to time and the website has also benefited from collaboration with others, including many other MPs’ staff from all parties.

In September 2005 Bill took over as site editor, with Dick remaining in charge of job ads and taking an executive role.

Please do not hesitate to contact us with any suggestions or comments - details as follows: 

Capita Learning and Development

Ask a Question:
 Use our question form  if you have questions about anything to do with working for an MP (for staff use only)

The team can be reached using the email address If you want to change details on a job ad it is faster to email In an emergency (and we mean something urgent)  you can reach the editor, Bill Thompson, on +44 7711 557361

Feedback on the site:
use the Feedback Form




Acknowledgements.  A large number of people have contributed to the creation of the material on this website.  It was always intended to be a cross-party production and so it is, with input not only from the staff of MPs but from House of Commons staff as well.  

Particular thanks are due to:  Clive Burrows, Richard Chapman, Richard Clarke, Rob Clements, Starbuck Coleman, Maureen Cook, Neil Crawley, Melissa Crawshay-Williams, Carys Davis, Kim Dewdney, Sally Duncan, Maureen Fitzhenry, Kevin Flack, Rachel Flagg, Lynn Fletcher, Katie Fuller, Sara Garnham, Amina Gual, Gerry Hall, Andy Harrop, David Haselhurst, Diane Hill, Mark Hudson, Anne Humbles, Georgie Jessiman, Neil Johnston, Mike Kelly, Alex King, Jo Latham (née Holland), Karen Lawrinson, Larry Leaf, Andrew Learmonth, Samantha Mackewn (née Gore), Kirsty McAskill, Veronica Martell, Alison McGovern, Fiona Mellersh (Syms), Jessica Metheringham, Matt Morrison, Kurt Mueller, Ellie Mumford Smith (née Dusic), Helen Newton, Keith Parry, Luke Pollard, Chris Pond, Paul Redfern, Richard Robinson, Chris Sear, Liz Shannon, Sadie Smith, Tim Snowball, Liz Stephen, Alex Swallow, Richard Thomas, James Tobin, Rosie Turner, Helen Undy, Luke Waterfield, Shirley-Ann Weir, Ceri White, Heather Wood and Erik Zimmerman. 

And if you find typos or mistakes or things that are just plain wrong, we won’t be offended if you point them out to us.  Use the Feedback page. 


Last updated: 23 August 2011

© 2003-12 Working 4 an MP